Outback Bowl Names New Board of Directors, Chairman

May 10, 2013

Tampa, FL -- The Outback Bowl has announced Ken Hoverman, Vice President-Growth Organization, United Healthcare Employer and Individual, has been elected to the post of Chairman of the Board of Directors of the popular New Years Day college bowl game located in Tampa. Hoverman has been an officer on the Board of Directors since 2007.

In addition, four new members were named to the Outback Bowl Board of Directors to include: Tracie Domino, Provider Relations Liaison, Laser Spine Institute; Lynn Dumais, Vice President Financial Reporting, MetLife; Rita Lowman, Chief Operating Officer & EVP, C1 Bank; and Bob Murray, Operating Partner General Manager, Mercedes Benz of Tampa.

"It is an honor to serve as this years Chairman of the Outback Bowl" states Hoverman. "It has been amazing to watch the Outback Bowl grow to become one of the premiere bowl games in the country and provide the Tampa Bay area with tremendous economic impact, along with more than $100 million to universities. I am confident that under the leadership of President and CEO Jim McVay and his staff, the Outback Bowl is well positioned for continued success in the future."

Additional officers elected by the board for the 2013-14 bowl include: Kevin Smith, Director of the St Petersburg / Clearwater Sports Commission, as Vice Chairman; Steve Pratico, Johnson, Auvil & Pratico, P.A., as Vice Chair of Hillsborough County; Todd Timmerman, Partner at Shumaker, Loop & Kendrick, LLP, as Vice Chair of Pinellas County; Todd Buchanan, Senior Vice President, VALIC Financial Advisors, as Secretary; and Bill Cammarata as Treasurer.

The Outback Bowl played in Raymond James Stadium will celebrate its 28th game this season. The game will kick off at 1:00 PM ET January 1, 2013 on ESPN TV and features teams from the Big Ten Conference and Southeastern Conference. For ticket or other information on the bowl go to www.OutbackBowl.com or call 813-874-BOWL.