Big Ten ConferenceSoutheastern Conference

Key Moments in Outback Bowl History

Jan. 1, 2016

The Outback Bowl celebrates its 30th Anniversary game.

Jan. 1, 2015

Wisconsin defeats Auburn 34-31 in overtime for the bowls fourth overtime decision and third overtime game in six years. Badger A.D. Barry Alvarez came out of retirement to coach the team to the win.

July, 2013

Outback Bowl extends agreements with Big Ten, SEC and ESPN/ABC networks for six additional years through the January 2020 bowl game.

June 26, 2013

Outback Steakhouse signs six year contract extension to title sponsor the bowl through the 2020 game.

Jan. 2, 2012

The 2012 Outback Bowl goes to triple overtime, only the third time in NCAA history a bowl game has gone to that point. Michigan State University comes back from a 0-16 deficit at halftime to defeat Georgia 33-30 blocking a field goal attempt on the final play.

Jan. 1, 2011

Outback Bowl Celebrates its 25th Anniversary game featuring Penn State vs Florida in Urban Meyers final game as the Gators Head Coach.

Jan. 1, 2010

Auburn defeats Northwestern 38-35 in bowls second overtime game. Teams tie or set 39 Outback Bowl records and 9 NCAA records in what many believe is the most exciting game in bowls history.

Oct. - Dec. 2009

Bowl completes contract extensions with Big Ten, SEC and ABC/ESPN for four additional years through the January 2014 game.

May 12, 2009

Outback Steakhouse commits to four year contract extension through 2014 game.

Jan. 2, 2006

Outback Bowl celebrates 20th Anniversary

July 26, 2005

Bowl completes contract extensions with SEC, Big Ten, ESPN and Outback Steakhouse through the 2010 game.

Jan. 1, 2005

Bowl hosts its highest ranked team in No. 7 Georgia.

Jan 1, 2004

Bowl played in front of fourth consecutive sellout crowd.

Oct. 2001

Bowl signs four year extensions with SEC, Big Ten, ESPN & Outback through January 2006 game.

Jan 1, 2001

Bowl celebrates its 15th anniversary.

Jan 1, 2000

Outback Bowl becomes first sporting event of the new millennium; Game between Georgia and Purdue becomes only second OT Bowl game in history and features greatest comeback by a team (25 points by Georgia) in history of all bowls.

Jan 1, 1999

Bowl moves to brand new Raymond James Stadium; Sells out its first game which features Penn State and Kentucky.

July 28, 1997

Bowl extends agreements with SEC, Big Ten, ESPN & Outback through January 2002.

Jan 1, 1996

Bowl celebrates 10th anniversary.

April 12, 1995

Bowl signs six-year deal with Outback Steakhouse as title sponsor; changes name to Outback Bowl.

Oct. 26, 1994

Bowl signs six-year contract with SEC and Big Ten Conferences; Extends ESPN contract.

April 24, 1992

Bowl signs first contract with ESPN TV.

Jan 1, 1990

Bowl hosts No. 9 Auburn and No. 21 Ohio State which attracts record crowd of 68,085 and is third highest rated of all the bowls.

Jan 1, 1989

Bowl moved to New Years Day lineup where it has remained ever since; hosts two top 20 teams for first time: No. 16 Syracuse and No. 19 LSU.

Jan 2, 1988

Bowl matches two of most prestigious teams in the sport, Michigan vs Alabama, in their only meeting to date. Wolverines win in final seconds.

Aug. 3, 1987

Bowl signs contract with NBC TV

Dec 23, 1986

Inaugural Hall of Fame Bowl

April 16, 1986

NCAA awards college bowl to Tampa Bay